Thursday, June 9, 2011

Inside The MDC 13U: Can The 13U Player Of The Year Please Stand Up?

F.A.C.E.S. Have Collected Alot Of Hardware This Year

The Killer Bees Are Stinging Everyone

After the Grand Finale I must admit I thought F.A.C.E.S. 13U was in major trouble. They got mercy ruled a couple of times and seemed to be too small for the competition. But Coach Cole rebounded with a few acquisitions and now leads this age group in Summer Slam points. Their quest started with a surprising championship at the Clash For The Cup before making a final four run against a brutal AC Showcase field. The Killer Bees then went on to win the NJ State crown and wrapped up the Spotlight circuit with a MDC Gold Ball. Coach Cole and his crew deserve kudos for turning things around so quickly.

13U Player Of The Year?

Usually after the MDC we have some idea who will win the POY of each division. This year has proven to be a little more difficult. A few players have shown flashes but no one has stepped up as Rakym Felder and Tyus Battle did for this class in years past. I guess we still have the 13U AAU Nationals, Summer Slam and Super Showcase for someone in this age group to snatch the trophy. The winner will be announced August 27th at the J.E.M. All Star Classic.

Basketball Spotlight MDC 13U All Tournament Team
Mr. Memorial Day- Idris Joyner (F.A.C.E.S.)- Orange Division
Mr. Memorial Day- Ikeena Ndugba (Expressions)- Blue Division
Ray Montilous (F.A.C.E.S.)
Azzur Taylor (F.A.C.E.S.)
RJ Cole (F.A.C.E.S.)
Jagan Mosley (F.A.C.E.S.)
Christian Ford (F.A.C.E.S.)
Vaughn Covington (Team Rebels)
Jabri McCall (Team Rebels)
Brad Hawkins (Team Rebels)
Jalen Harris (Wilson Blue Devils)
Kylia Sykes (Wilson Blue Devils)
Diondre Overton (Wilson Blue Devils)
Martiese Edwards (Wilson Blue Devils)
Tremont Waters (CT Elite)
Trayson Patterson (CT Elite)
NyRhique Smith (Gauchos)
Mustapha Heron (Gauchos)
Armanie Craddock (Gauchos)
Greg Fernando (Expressions)
Nicholas Brooks (Playaz)
Malcolm Manning (Playaz)
Tyler Jones (CJFS)
Darryl Caldwell (Montgomery County)
Anthony Munson (MAE Ironmen)
John Jenkins (CT Elite)