Thursday, January 3, 2019

Tip Off Classic 7th Grade Best Of The Best & All-Tournament Team

The Basketball Spotlight Tip Off Classic 7th Grade Division produced a new champion and some fresh faces . Now Here’s a look at the Tip Off Classic Best Of The Best and All Tournament Teams. 

Tip Off Classic 7th Grade Best Of The Best 

Best Performer: Derrick Queen (Team Thrill)- The big guy carried the weight most of the weekend and proved to be too much for the opposition. He will be a problem for years to come. 

Best Prospect: Ahmad Nowell (Team Final/Fidonce)- Since Queen took home MVP honors it was only right for Nowell to get the nod for Best Prospect. The scoring guard was very difficult to contain all weekend. 

Best Playmaker: Nigel James (Team Thrill)- Whether he was scoring or dropping dimes James had everything clicking that weekend. He’s one of the most entertaining guards to watch on the circuit. 

Best Scorer: Nas Simmons (Gauchos)- Simmons plaid 20 plus on several teams at the Tip Off Classic. It seemed like the bigger the game the bigger his output. 

Best Versatility: Jaylen Bushell (Playtime)- Bushell was able to get his own rebound and push the rock up the floor himself. He also showed improvement on his play making ability and court vision. This is good for a kid that once was a post-up player. 

Best Defender: Kaafiq Myers (Team Final/Fidonce)- Good luck trying to bring the rock up against this kid. He was a ball hawk the full 94 feet. 

Best Shooter: Daquan Davis (Team Thrill)- When Queen and James made the defense react, Davis killed with his outside stroke. He’s very confident letting it fly. 

Best Floor General: Johnuel Fland (Gauchos)- Fland was the setup guy for high scoring Simmons and his other teammates. His poise and leadership ability stood out. 

Best Fresh Face: Mike Jones Jr. (Team Final/Fidonce)- Deuce is not necessarily new to the Spotlight but new to the Orange Division and he did more than just hold his own. He’s a pure scorer and developing playmaker. 

Tip Off Classic All-Tournament Team 
Derrick Queen (Team Thrill) 
Nigel James (Team Thrill) 
Daquan Davis (Team Thrill) 
Tyler Jackson (Team Thrill) 
Nas Simmons (Gauchos) 
Johnuel Fland (Gauchos) 
Jadyn James (Gauchos) 
Eric Mesa (Gauchos) 
Ahmad Nowell (Team Final/Fidonce) 
Mike Jones Jr. (Team Final/Fidonce) 
Kaafiq Myers (Team Final/Fidonce) 
Dashon Dodson (Team Final/Fidonce) 
Jaylen Bushell (Playtime) 
Austin Spencer (Playtime) 
Shawn Spencer (Playtime)